ACM SIGMOD Seattle, USA, 2023
sigmod pods logo

SIGMOD 2023: Awards

SIGMOD Research Track Best Papers

For contributions to Core DB

Detecting Logic Bugs of Join Optimizations in DBMS: Xiu Tang (Zhejiang University); Sai Wu (Zhejiang Univ); Dongxiang Zhang (Zhejiang University); Feifei Li (Alibaba Group); Gang Chen (Zhejiang University)
"For introducing a new paradigm, Transformed Query Synthesis (TQS), which elegantly and effectively addresses a critical problem in modern DBMSes –debugging of complex logic bugs in the implementation of join queries and the demonstrated applicability of TQS to open-source and industry-leading systems."

For contributions to data science

Predicate Pushdown for Data Science Pipelines: Cong Yan (Microsoft research); Yin Lin (University of Michigan); Yeye He (Microsoft Research)
"For introducing MagicPush and its impact on optimizing data science pipelines, its thorough and elegant presentation, and for the potential of advancing the field of query optimization in general. MagicPush handles a rich library of user-defined functions and generalizes the applicability and correctness of predicate pushdown to real-world data science pipelines."

SIGMOD Industry Track Best Paper

PG-Schema: Schemas for Property Graphs: Renzo Angles (Universidad de Talca); Angela Bonifati (Univ. of Lyon); Stefania Dumbrava (ENSIIE); George Fletcher (Eindhoven University of Technology the Netherlands); Alastair Green (Mr); Jan Hidders (Birkbeck, University of London)*; Bei Li (Google); Leonid Libkin (University of Edinburgh & RelationalAI); Victor Marsault (UPEM / CNRS); Wim Martens (University of Bayreuth); Filip Murlak (University of Warsaw, Poland); Stefan Plantikow (Neo4j); Ognjen Savkovic (Free University of Bozen-Bolzano); Michael Schmidt (Amazon Web Services); Juan Sequeda (; Sławek Staworko (RelationalAI); Dominik Tomaszuk (University of Bialystok); Hannes Voigt (Neo4j); Domagoj Vrgoc (Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile); Mingxi Wu (Tigergraph inc); Dušan Živković (Integral Data Solutions)
"For its immediate and significant impact on the direction of standard bodies and property graph data management systems in the space of schema languages, its balanced mix of theory and practice and for the potential in impacting industry in a broad manner."

SIGMOD Research Highlight Award

SIGMOD Best Artifact Award

Best Artifact

JEDI: These aren't the JSON documents you're looking for... Thomas Hütter (University of Salzburg), Nikolaus Augsten (University of Salzburg), Christoph M. Kirsch (University of Salzburg & Czech Technical University), Michael J. Carey (University of California, Irvine), Chen Li (University of California, Irvine)

Honorable Mention

HypeR: Hypothetical Reasoning With What-If and How-To Queries Using a Probabilistic Causal Approach. Sainyam Galhotra (University of Chicago), Amir Gilad (Duke University), Sudeepa Roy (Duke University), Babak Salimi (University of California, San Diego)

SIGMOD Programming Contest


Jiayi Wang. Team Hello World. Tsinghua University


Haizhou Ye, Xuyang Liu, Chenzhao Wang. Team Canton DwenDwen. Jinan University

SIGMOD Distinguished AEs

SIGMOD Distinguished PCs

SIGMOD Best Demonstration Award

Best Demo

A Demonstration of KAMEL: A Scalable BERT-based System for Trajectory Imputation. Mashaal Musleh (University of Minnesota) and Mohamed Mokbel (University of Minnesota - Twin Cities)


SIGMOD Student Research Competition

Undergraduate Winner

Graduate Winner

Jim Gray Doctoral Dissertation Award


Supun Nakandala
University of California, San Diego
Query Optimizations for Deep Learning Systems


SIGMOD Systems Award

Apache Flink: In recognition of Apache Flink,which greatly expanded the use of stream data-processing, a selection from the list of Flink committers is presented. As an open-source project, Apache Flink received contributions from over 1400 contributors, many of them substantial, which are not listed here.
Aljoscha Krettek, Andrey Zagrebin, Anton Kalashnikov, Arvid Heise, Asterios Katsifodimos, Jiangji (Becket) Qin, Benchao Li, Bowen Li, Caizhi Weng, ChengXiang Li, Chesnay Schepler, Chiwan Park, Congxian Qiu, Daniel Warneke, Danny Cranmer, David Anderson, David Morávek, Dawid Wysakowicz, Dian Fu, Dong Lin, Eron Wright, Etienne Chauchot, Fabian Hueske, Fabian Paul, Feng Wang, Gabor Somogyi, Gary Yao, Godfrey He, Greg Hogan, Guowei Ma, Gyula Fora, Haohui Mai, Henry Saputra, Hequn Cheng, Igal Shilman, Ingo Bürk, Jamie Grier, Jark Wu, Jincheng Sun, Jing Ge, Jing Zhang, Jingsong Lee, Junhan Yang, Konstantin Knauf, Kostas Kloudas, Kostas Tzoumas, Kete (Kurt) Young, Leonard Xu, Lijie Wang, Lincoln Lee, Lungu Andra, Martijn Visser, Marton Balassi, Matthias J. Sax, Matthias Pohl, Matyas Orhidi, Maximilian Michels, Nico Kruber, Niels Basjes, Paris Carbone, Piotr Nowojski, Qingsheng Ren, Robert Metzger, Roman Khachatryan, Rong Rong, Rui Fan, Rui Li, Sebastian Schelter, Seif Haridi, Sergey Nuyanzin, Seth Wiesman, Shaoxuan Wang, Shengkai Fang, Shuyi Chen, Sihua Zhou, Stefan Richter, Stephan Ewen, Theodore Vasiloudis, Thomas Weise, Till Rohrmann, Timo Walther, Tzu-Li (Gordon) Tai, Ufuk Celebi, Vasiliki Kalavri, Volker Markl, Wei Zhong, Weijie Guo, Xiaogang Shi, Xiaowei Jiang, Xingbo Huang, Xingcan Cui, Xintong Song, Yang Wang, Yangze Guo, Yingjie Cao, Yu Li, Yuan Mei, Yun Gao, Yun Tang, Yuxia Luo, Zhijiang Wang, Zhipeng Zhang, Zhu Zhu, Zili Chen

SIGMOD Contributions Award

K. Selcuk Candan: For extensive and outstanding service to the database community, including long-term dedication to the SIGMOD conference coordination, instigation of rolling deadlines for the SIGMOD conference, and leadership in the conference proceedings to ACM PACMMOD journal transition.

SIGMOD Test-of-Time Award

Integrating Scale Out and Fault Tolerance in Stream Processing using Operator State Management. Raul Castro Fernandez, Matteo Migliavacca, Evangelia Kalyvianaki, and Peter Pietzuch: For the paper from the SIGMOD proceedings 10 years prior that has had the most impact over the intervening decade.

Edgar F Codd Innovations Award

Joseph M. Hellerstein: For innovative contributions in extensible query processing, interactive data analytics, and declarative approaches to networking and distributed computing.

Follow our progress: TwitterFacebook